The guilt of doing nothing…

I really enjoy downtime, taking it easy, having a chill day, whatever you call it.  I find it ridiculous that people need to give themselves permission to take some time off.  I always wonder if people think I am lazy, even though I am not.  I get a lot of stuff done, but I always give myself time to do what I want.

When I was still in school, (university), some girls and I were discussing reading, and I mentioned that I read 60 books last year.  They were flabbergasted by that number, which I admit is a lot of books.  To be fair, some of them were short novellas, i.e. R.L. Stine from the 90’s.  Anyways, the girls commented that they didn’t have time to read, which really annoyed me.  It always annoys me when people say they don’t have time to read.  I make time.  All of these girls were going out every weekend, and were trying to make it seem that they were excellent students that when they are not studying are working very hard at a full time job, which is not true.  They were always late handing in assignments or did them the night before, and were spending all of their weekends working at a part time job, (maybe 15 hours a week?), and then go out to drink.  I didn’t do that.  I did that in my 20’s, but now that I am in my 30’s I do not drink as much, or plan to drink.  I think it is fine to go out and have fun, but understand that you are spending time doing it, and this is time that you could be spending in a different way!

I think it is important to understand how you spend your time, and realize that there is so many hours that are wasted and could be used differently.  Everyone has the same amount of hours in the day.  Some people may not have as much going on in these days, but these are all choices that people have made!  It is not fair to judge others and how they spend their time.

Although I don’t particularly agree with this concept it seems that people need it, give yourself permission to enjoy your time.  Do what you want, and be cognizant of how you spend your time.  If you choose to watch Netflix every night then you can’t say that you do not have time to read!  Maybe it is time to switch up how you spend your time.  Put down the phone, go for a walk.  Cook a nice meal.  Take a bath or shower.  Put on a face mask, paint your nails.  Read a damn book!

I wish that life should be not be cheap, but sacred.  I wish the days to be as centuries, loaded, fragrant.

Ralph Waldo Emerson

Fill your days with what you love.  Do what you want, and f’ anyone who tries to make you feel guilty.  And remember, they choose how to spend their time.

-GR

Leave a Reply

